Download Full Text (201.2 MB)


This 1916 report focuses on the issues surrounding irrigation districts organized under the original Wright Act of 1887 (with amendments adopted in 1889, 1891, 1893 and 1895) and the act of 1897 (rewriting the original act), and additional amendments in 1901, 1909, 1911, 1913 and 1915.


The 1916 report covers the establishment of irrigation districts between 1887 and 1915. Under the Wright Act of 1887, the State sought to conferred on farming communities powers of municipalities in the purchase or construction and operation of irrigation works. The report considered the old irrigation districts from the point of view of what seemed to have been their purpose. They were grouped as follows:

Districts essentially nonspeculative and· formed to meet a bona fide demand for new irrigation works: Orland, Kraft, Orland Southside, Central, Colusa, Browns Valley, Modesto, Turloek, Huron, Tipton, Tule · River, Kern and Tulare, Poso, Ama'rgeza, Neenach, Palmdale, Pomona Orange Belt, Olive, Grapeland, East Riverside, Elsinore, San Jacinto and Pleasant Valley, Riverside Heights, Escondido, Fallbrook, San Marcos, Otay. (27)

Districts essentially nonspeculative and formed wholly or largely for reorganization or improvement of existing systems: Happy Valley, Madera, Selma, Alta, Tulare, Santa Gertrudes, Vineland, Glendora, Strong, Walnut, Anaheim. (11)

Districts essentially speculative: Sunset, Manzana, Little Rock Creek, Big Rock Creek, Rialto, Citrus Belt, Alessandro, Perris, Murrietta, Linda Vista, Jamacha. ( 11)

The report addresses the amendments and supplementary acts that were adopted and perceived as having greatly changing and strengthening the original act.


California Department of Engineering


PDF File




Education | Engineering | Law | Social and Behavioral Sciences

Original Format


Document Type


1916 - Irrigation Districts in California, 1887-1915, Bulletin No. 2